Disable message edit history

This feature is only available to organization owners and administrators.

By default, Zulip displays messages that have been edited with an EDITED tag, and users can view the edit history of a message.

To remove the edit history of a single message, it is usually best to delete the message entirely. However, you can also disable viewing of message edit history more generally.

Disable message edit history

  1. Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.

  2. Select Manage organization.

  3. On the left, click Organization permissions.

  4. Under Message editing, uncheck Enable message edit history.

  5. Click Save changes.